January 28

February 18, 2024

The Yard at Chicago Shakespeare

music & lyrics by Sufjan Stevens
(based on the album Illinois)
story by Justin Peck and Jackie Sibblies Drury
directed & choreographed by Justin Peck


“Justin Peck can do anything he wants with choreography: a virtuoso of the form.”

–The New York Times

“Sufjan Stevens is the rarest of talents: prolific, intelligent, and brimming with heart-wrenching melodies. Illinois is his masterpiece.”


Pulitzer Prize Winner Jackie Sibblies Drury’s work is “breathless and radiant”

–The New York Times

Justin Peck, Sufjan Stevens, Jackie Sibblies DruryThe Yard at Chicago Shakespeare is home to a new kind of musical based on Grammy and Oscar-nominated Sufjan Stevens’ acclaimed concept album. Known for its lush orchestrations and wildly inventive portrayal of the state’s people, landscapes, and history, a team of brilliantly imaginative artists unite to transform the album into a full-length theatrical performance, with a story by Tony Award winner Justin Peck (New York City Ballet, Steven Spielberg’s West Side Story), and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Jackie Sibblies Drury (Fairview). Featuring a cast of virtuosic dancers, singers, and a live band, Illinoise will lead audiences on a journey through the American heartland.

Non-stop Laughs...
CBS Sunday Morning feature: Justin Peck

Clockwise from bottom, original company members: Jonathan Fahoury, Matthew Johnson, Jennifer Florentino, Byron Tittle. Photo by Matt Murphy.


The Players

Creative Team

Sufjan Stevens Music & Lyrics

Justin Peck Story, Director & Choreographer

Jackie Sibblies Drury Story

Nathan Koci Music Direction & Music Supervision

Timo Andres Music Arrangements & Orchestrations

Adam Rigg Scenic Design

Brandon Stirling Baker Lighting Design

Garth MacAleavey Sound Design

Reid Bartelme & Harriet Jung Costume Design

Andrew Diaz Props Design

Julian Crouch Masks

Adriana Pierce Associate Director & Choreographer

Sean Forte Associate Music Direction

Rick Steiger Production Stage Manager

Brian Freeland Production Manager

Nate Koch Executive Producer

NVK / Jenna Ready + Joanna Pisano General Management

ArKtype / Thomas O. Kriegsmann Booking Agent


Kara Chan Cast

Ben Cook Cast

Jeanette Delgado Cast

Gaby Diaz Cast

Robbie Fairchild Cast

Christine Flores Cast

Jada German Cast

Zachary Gonder Cast

Rachel Lockhart Cast

Dario Natarelli Cast

Tyrone Reese Cast

Craig Salstein Cast

Ahmad Simmons Cast

Byron Tittle Cast

Ricky Ubeda Cast

Alejandro Vargas Cast

Shara Nova Vocalist

Tasha Viets-VanLear Vocalist

Christina Courtin Instrumentalist

Sean Forte Instrumentalist

Domenica Fossati Instrumentalist

Daniel Freedman Instrumentalist

Kathy Halvorson Instrumentalist

Nathan Koci Instrumentalist

Eleonore Oppenheim Instrumentalist

Brett Parnell Instrumentalist

Brandon Ridenour Instrumentalist

Kyra Sims Instrumentalist

Jessica Tsang Instrumentalist

Additional Pages