Gala 2015

Supporting Chicago Shakespeare in Urban Communities

GALA 2015 is the signature fundraising event for CST with proceeds directly supporting Chicago Shakespeare in Urban Communities, the Theater’s nationally recognized education programs and Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks. It will draw five hundred of the city’s civic and cultural leaders to CST’s home on Navy Pier, where they will enjoy theatrical-inspired décor and living art installations. Highlights of the event include the presentation of the fourth annual “Spirit of Shakespeare Awards,” honoring those who keep the spirit of Shakespeare alive through community service and artistic leadership, and an artistic program featuring star-studded performances. 

Team Shakespeare, recognized by the White House as a 2014 National Arts and Humanities Youth Program Award recipient, is CST’s acclaimed arts-in-education initiative. The program annually introduces more than 40,000 students to Shakespeare in performance and for 20 years has positioned the Theater as a partner in literacy through award-winning professional development programs for teachers.

Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks is endorsed by Mayor Rahm Emanuel as a summertime tradition that makes "Chicago's neighborhoods come alive with the thrill and magice of live theater." This innovative partnership beween Chicago's cultural, civic, and corporate communities tours a professional production, free for all, to parks across the city's divers neighborhoods, impacting tens of thousands of Chicagoans.


Save the date: June 8, 2015


2015 Spirit of Shakespeare Awards

Keeping the Spirit of Shakespeare alive through artistic leadership and community service


David and Ros Parry


Simon Callow


Phylicia Rashād


GALA 2015 Lead Sponsors


Food For Thought Catering



Allstate Insurance Company
Jess and Amanda Merten

Bartlit Beck Herman Palenchar & Scott LLP
Mark Ouweleen and Sarah Harding

BlueCross BlueShield of Illinois
Maurice Smith
Nazneen Razi

BMO Harris Bank

Bulley & Andrews

Mr. and Mrs. Lester Crown

Dover Foundation

Robin and Steve Solomon

Harve A. Ferrill and Karla Scherer

GCM Grosvenor



Betsy and Jack Karp

Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Richard Porter and Lydia Marti

Charlene and Bill Tomazin

Raymond and Judy McCaskey

Northern Trust

Burton X. and Sheli Z. Rosenberg

John W. and Jeanne M. Rowe

Mr. and Mrs. Patrick G. Ryan

Carole and Gordon Segal

Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Brian and Yasmina Duwe

The Sun-Times Foundation /
The Chicago Community Trust
Michael and Jacky Ferro

The Donna Van Eekeren Foundation




Gallery: GALA 2015 Photos


Video: Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks 2015 Montage


Video: Chicago Shakespeare Theater's Education Programs


  For more information contact:
       Sam Ostrowski



Additional Pages