Menu
Next Performance:

Tuesday, September 27

7:30 P.M. Piya Behrupiya

SUBSCRIBE TODAY, SAVE ALL YEAR

Choose a classic package or create your own and join us for the 30th Anniversary Season.

TUG OF WAR: CIVIL STRIFE

Through October 9 only, see the fall of Henry VI to the rise of Richard III in a must-see event.

FROM INDIA: PIYA BEHRUPIYA

An award-winning Hindi translation of Twelfth Night is in town September 27+29.

THE REVENGE OF PRINCE ZI DAN

Shanghai Jingju Theatre reinterprets Hamlet September 28+29 at The Harris Theater.

A SPACE FOR THE IMAGINATION

Learn about our expanded campus and the transformative campaign making it possible.

Chicago Celebrates Shakespeare

In 2016 CST spearheads an international yearlong arts festival all across the city.

CHICAGO PREMIERE: KING CHARLES III

2015 Olivier Award winning play hailed “flat out brilliant” by The New York Times.  

SHAKESPEARE TONIGHT!

A one-night-only cabaret event with music from the great American songbook—December 5.

THE COMPLETE DEATHS

All 75 deaths in Shakespeare done onstage—solemn, somber and sublimely funny.

LIMITED ENGAGEMENT SOLD OUT

Tickets for Cheek by Jowl's production of The Winter's Tale are no longer available.

Award-winning artists return

unpathed waters, undreamed shores—a site-responsive, pedestrian-based event in 2016.

WORLD PREMIERE IN WINTER 2017

Artistic Director Barbara Gaines stages the moving, humorous drama The Book of Joseph.

LOVE'S LABOR'S LOST

Studies give way to amorous letters and vows in the Bard’s witty satire on young love.

SHORT SHAKESPEARE!

This 75-minute abridgment of Romeo and Juliet is the perfect introduction to Shakespeare.

GRAVEDIGGERS' HAMLET

Chicago's The Lincoln Squares explore a story of betrayal, loss, love and obsession.

SHAKESPEARE IN LOVE

The Oscar-winning romantic comedy is returned to the stage in this Chicago premiere.

1617_Subscribe
1617_Tug_of_War
1617_PIYA
1617_Revenge_of_Prince_Zi_Dan
1516_The_Yard
1516_Shakespeare400Chicago
1617_King_Charles_III
1617_Shakespeare_Tonight
1617_Complete_Deaths
1617_WINTER
1617_unpathed_waters
1617_Book_of_Joseph
1617_Loves_Labors_Lost
1617_Short_Shakes_Romeo_Juliet
1617_Gravediggers_Hamlet_S400
1617_Shakespeare_in_Love

SUBSCRIBE TODAY, SAVE ALL YEAR

Choose a classic package or create your own and join us for the 30th Anniversary Season.

TUG OF WAR: CIVIL STRIFE

Through October 9 only, see the fall of Henry VI to the rise of Richard III in a must-see event.

FROM INDIA: PIYA BEHRUPIYA

An award-winning Hindi translation of Twelfth Night is in town September 27+29.

THE REVENGE OF PRINCE ZI DAN

Shanghai Jingju Theatre reinterprets Hamlet September 28+29 at The Harris Theater.

A SPACE FOR THE IMAGINATION

Learn about our expanded campus and the transformative campaign making it possible.

Chicago Celebrates Shakespeare

In 2016 CST spearheads an international yearlong arts festival all across the city.

CHICAGO PREMIERE: KING CHARLES III

2015 Olivier Award winning play hailed “flat out brilliant” by The New York Times.  

SHAKESPEARE TONIGHT!

A one-night-only cabaret event with music from the great American songbook—December 5.

THE COMPLETE DEATHS

All 75 deaths in Shakespeare done onstage—solemn, somber and sublimely funny.

LIMITED ENGAGEMENT SOLD OUT

Tickets for Cheek by Jowl's production of The Winter's Tale are no longer available.

Award-winning artists return

unpathed waters, undreamed shores—a site-responsive, pedestrian-based event in 2016.

WORLD PREMIERE IN WINTER 2017

Artistic Director Barbara Gaines stages the moving, humorous drama The Book of Joseph.

LOVE'S LABOR'S LOST

Studies give way to amorous letters and vows in the Bard’s witty satire on young love.

SHORT SHAKESPEARE!

This 75-minute abridgment of Romeo and Juliet is the perfect introduction to Shakespeare.

GRAVEDIGGERS' HAMLET

Chicago's The Lincoln Squares explore a story of betrayal, loss, love and obsession.

SHAKESPEARE IN LOVE

The Oscar-winning romantic comedy is returned to the stage in this Chicago premiere.

CALENDAR

September 2016
SMTWTFS
01
Thu, Sep 1
02
Fri, Sep 2
03
Sat, Sep 3
04
Sun, Sep 4
05
Mon, Sep 5
06
Tue, Sep 6
07
Wed, Sep 7
08
Thu, Sep 8
09
Fri, Sep 9
10
Sat, Sep 10
11
Sun, Sep 11
12
Mon, Sep 12
13
Tue, Sep 13
14
Wed, Sep 14
15
Thu, Sep 15
16
Fri, Sep 16

7:30 p.m.

Songs of Lear

17
Sat, Sep 17
18
Sun, Sep 18
19
Mon, Sep 19
20
Tue, Sep 20
21
Wed, Sep 21
22
Thu, Sep 22
23
Fri, Sep 23
24
Sat, Sep 24

4:00 p.m.

Tug of War: Civil Strife

(PA)

 Come for the PreAmble 1 hour before curtain

25
Sun, Sep 25

1:00 p.m.

Tug of War: Civil Strife

(PA)

 Come for the PreAmble 1 hour before curtain

26
Mon, Sep 26
27
Tue, Sep 27
30
Fri, Sep 30
Next Performance:

Tuesday, September 27

7:30 P.M. Piya Behrupiya

Cst Spotlight

Shakespeare 400 Chicago

News

September 22, 2016

Downton Abbey Actor in title role of King Charles III

Robert Bathurst, known for playing Sir Anthony Strallan, will lead an exceptional cast in this fall's Chicago premiere.

Read More

September 21, 2016

Foro Shakespeare debuta en Chicago

Hoy Noticias interviews Artistic Director Itari Marta on Enamorarse de un incendio, at CST this month.

Read More

September 19, 2016

Shakespeare 400 Chicago This Month

An array of stunning international productions arrive from Mexico, China, India and beyond.

Read More

Watch & Listen

 

Video: Tug of War: Civil Strife

 

Video: The Yard

Additional Pages